What do we do?

The laboratory of Neurobiology of Depression and Ageing, spearheaded by Dr. Etienne Sibille is located at the Campbell Family Mental Health Research Institute of CAMH. The goals and vision of the Sibille lab are to first, develop new understanding of mechanisms underlaying major depression, life-long maturation or aging of the brain and their respective interactions, and, second, to use this knowledge to develop strategies for new therapeutic approaches. To reach these goals, we are using large-scale genome, molecular and biostatistical approaches to characterize the primary pathology in human post-mortem brain samples. We the use relevant genetic and environmental mouse models to investigate causal links between the identified pathologies (e.g. BDNF/GABA dysregulations and mood regulatory mechanisms, and to test novel therapeutic strategies at the behavioural and molecular/cellar levels.

Recent & News

Publications

Prevot TD, Li G, Vidojevic A, Santrac A, Misquitta K, Fee C, Knutson DE, Arnold LA, Scholze A, Fisher JL, Banasr M, Cook JM, Savic M, Sibille E (2018) Pro-cognitive, anxiolytic and antidepressant properties of novel GABAA receptor positive modulators with preferential efficacy at the α5-subunit. Molecular Neuropsychiatry. 2018. (In Press)

Shukla R, Prevot TD, French L, Isserlin R, Rocco BR, Banasr M, Bader GD, Sibille E. The relative contributions of cell dependent cortical microcircuit aging to cognition and anxiety. Biological Psychiatry. October 2018.
PMID: 30446205

Oh H, Piantadosi SC, Rocco BR, Lewis DA, Watkins SC, Sibille E. The role of dendritic BDNF transcripts on altered inhibitory circuitry in depression. Biological Psychiatry. October 2018.
PMID: 30449530


View all

Etienne Sibille
Principle Investigator
Deputy Director and Chair of Campbell Institute
E: Etienne.Sibille@camh.ca

Yuliya Nikolova
Independent Scientist
Campbell Family Mental Health
Research Institute
E: Yuliya.Nikolova@camh.ca

Mounira Banasr
Independent Scientist
Campbell Family Mental Health
Research Institute
E: Mounira.Banasr@camh.ca

Leon French 
Independent Scientist
Campbell Family Mental Health
Research Institute
E: Leone.French@camh.ca

Breno Diniz 
Clinician Scientist
Campbell Scientist
Campbell Family Mental Health Research Institute
E: Breno.Diniz@camh.ca

Mehrab Ali
Research Program Manager
E: Mehrab.Ali@camh.ca

Hyunjung Oh
Senior Post-Doctoral Fellow
E: Hyunjung.Oh@camh.ca

Thomas Prevot 
Senior Post-Doctoral Fellow
E: Thomas.Prevot@camh.ca

Rammohan Shukla
Post-Doctoral Fellow
E: Rammohan.Shukla@camh.ca

Akiko Sumitomo
Post-Doctoral Fellow
E: Akiko.Sumitomo@camh.ca

Vivek Philip
Post-Doctoral Fellow
E: Vivek.Philip@camh.ca

Amy Miles
Post-Doctoral Fellow
(Nikolova Group)
E: Amy.Miles@camh.ca

Klara Mareckova
Post-Doctoral Fellow
(Nikolova Group)
E: Klara.Mareckova@camh.ca>

Erica Vieira
Post-Doctoral Fellow
(Diniz Group)
E: Erica.Vieira@camh.ca

Corey Fee
PhD. Student
E: Corey.Fee@camh.ca

Dwight Netwon
PhD. Student
E: Dwight.Netwon@camh.ca

Keith Misquitta
PhD. Student
(Banasr Group)
E: Keith.Misquitta@camh.ca

Kartikay Chadha
Research Analyst
(Webmaster)
E: Kartikay.Chadha@camh.ca

Netta Ussyshkin
Research Analyst
E: Nettea.Ussyshkin@camh.ca

Navona Calarco
Research Analyst
(Nikolova Group)
E: Navona.Calarco@camh.ca

Derek Howard
Research Analyst
(French Group)
E: Derek.Howard@camh.ca

Pegah Abed-Esfahani
Research Analyst
(French Group)
E: Pegah.Abed@camh.ca

Dipashree Chatterjee
MSc. Student
(Banasr Group)
E: Dipashree.Chatterjee@camh.ca

Wennie Wu
MSc. Student
(French Group)
E: Wennie.Wu@camh.ca